Countdown

4… 3… 2… 1…

A countdown of numbers or at least that’s what it seems to be… A countdown of numbers or is it much more? Four has always been a favorite of mine. It connotes death in many of the Asian cultures but, to me, Four is very special. Four is the house I was born in and the month that had me. Four is the number of friends my heart holds dear and the number that signifies the children in my home. Four is the number that holds life for me, no matter if it’s the number that sounds like death in my native language.

3… 2… 1…

Another countdown, another countdown… But Three’s already special enough without my additions. Yet, Three is dear to me. Three is the number of sister I have. Three has doubled itself to be the roof over my head, and Three is the miles I have to walk until I reach my best friend’s abode. Three is a nurturing number.

2… 1…

It’s getting shorter, getting much shorter… Two is always coming in pairs, coming or going, but it still holds a power. Two is the parental guidance of my life, and Two is the number of families I have, both blood and sworn. Two is the light that shines my way.

1…

Hm… One… There’s not much to say about this One, sort of sad really, but it must get its mention. One is the one I hope to find. One is the one I hope will love me. One is my soul mate, and I’m determined to find One.

Written May 22nd, 2013
Leave a Reply

